Methow Valley Communications District

Serving Brewster, Pateros, Methow, Carlton, Twisp, Winthrop and Mazama

You are receiving this letter and billing assessment because your property is in the Methow Valley Communications District. Our district is a special purpose district of Okanogan County which provides communications services from four mountaintop sites in the area. Goat Mtn. and Billy Goat Peak serve Brewster, Pateros, and the lower Methow Valley. McClure Mountain serves Carlton, Twisp, and Winthrop areas. Grizzly Mountain serves the upper Methow Valley and Mazama. We do not receive any tax funds to finance operations, but instead depend on these annual assessments of the property owners within our district boundaries. We are governed by Washington State RCW 36.95.100 which allows small rural TV repeater districts a legal means to collect dues to fund services. The funds collected from this assessment go into special operating and investment funds with the Okanogan County Treasurer and are used only for the maintenance and operation of the District facilities and services.

Our repeaters receive and translate the primary network television channels (ABC, CBS, NBC, PBS, and FOX) from Spokane. To receive the signals, you need an antenna affixed outside of your residence. Please contact our technician Paul Brown at pbrown@methowmail.com for assistance in acquiring the signal. For more information about our communication district, go to our website www.methowcommunications.org.

In addition to TV signals, the district also owns and maintains powerlines providing power to the top of McClure Mt. (Twisp) and Grizzly Mt. (Mazama). These lines provide power for every type of communication service in the Methow Valley – radio, TV, emergency services, cell phones, and internet.

We are dependent upon your support to continue the services of our district. You may, however, request an exemption to the assessment by filling out the back of your assessment notice and returning it to the county. Exemptions are not permanent and are granted for the assessment year only unless it is determined by our technicians that your parcel is out of range of district signal. To support the vital community service our district provides, many people chose not to claim an exemption even if they meet our exemption criteria. If you are not currently on our billings list and would like to contribute, please send your check to the Okanogan County Treasurer, PO Box 111, Okanogan, WA, 98840, and ask to be added to our rolls.

The district is governed by a five-person board of volunteer directors appointed by the Okanogan County Commissioners. The monthly meetings are held the 2nd Monday of each month at 4:00 PM via Zoom and are open to the public.

Thanks for your support!

Methow Valley Communications District Directors		Methow Valley Communications District Staff	
Neil Rotstan, Director	509-996-4506	Paul Brown, Technician	509-996-3211
Mike Shirley, Director	509-588-1212	Becky Studen, Secretary	509-322-4038
Dick Hamel, Director	509-996-2061		
Janet Varrelman, Director	509-923-2884		